AC Milan Football Club Profile

Sport News 2012 , AC Milan FC Profile - Associazione Calcio Milan, or known by the abbreviated name, AC Milan, or even shorter, Milan, is one of the elite clubs in Italy.

Nicknamed the Rossoneri club (The Red and Black) has won 18 international titles recognized UEFA and FIFA, just below the Boca Juniors for winning the most international titles. Milan won four world titles, three Intercontinental Cups and a FIFA Club World Cup.

The club is also nicknamed il Diavolo (The Devil) was won seven Cup / Champions League (second only to Real Madrid), holds the record five-time champion of the UEFA Super Cup, and twice won the Cup Winners' Cup.

In the domestic league, Milan won 17 scudetto (Serie A), third after Juventus (27 degrees) and Inter Milan (18 degrees). The club play at San Siro, also known as the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza (capacity of 80 074 seats), sharing with Inter. The owner is Silvio Berlusconi, who is also Prime Minister of Italy.


AC Milan was founded as a cricket club in 1899 by expatriates Alfred Edwards and Herbert Kilpin, who came from Nottingham, England. As a tribute, the name of this club to use English pronunciation, not the pronunciation of Italy, the Milano. Milan won the first title in the Italian League in 1901 and reached again in 1906 and 1907.

In 1908, because of disagreements about the recruitment of foreign players, the club is split into two, AC Milan and Internazionale. Divisions that make up his fasts Milan 1950-51 season. In 1963, Milan won the European level for the first time after beating Benfica in the final. This success was repeated in 1969, followed in the Intercontinental Cup title that year.

After the retirement of Gianni Rivera, Milan achievement plummeted. In 1980, Milan were involved in the scandal Totonero (gambling scandal and the determination result of the match) and the sanctions are relegated to Serie B. Milan quickly back up to Serie A, but fell again to Serie B because it ranks third from the bottom.

In 1986, entrepreneur Silvio Berlusconi acquired the club and immediately invested a lot of money. Milan then appointed Arrigo Sacchi as coach and recruiting Dutch trio of Ruud Gullit, Marco van Basten and Frank Rijkaard. That was the beginning of the golden era in the history of Milan.

With the famous trio, Milan won five Champions League trophies, five European Super Cups, two Intercontinental Cups, one Cup and World Cup. Together with the Dutch trio, Milan had dubbed the Dream Team.

In 2006, the Milan back in Serie A scandal with four other clubs, namely the end of the match-fixing. As a result, Milan had 15 points and cuts failed to qualify for the Champions League. However, the deduction was later reduced to just seven points and Milan qualify for Champions League. Remarkably, Milan win the Champions League later in the season.

Category Article

What's on Your Mind...

Powered by Blogger.